top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrape Blogs

Baby Grape's New Journey To..

As Much as I would love to say it is a Journey to home we are not there yet.

Our first stop is the Operation Room. This is going to be Melody’s second surgery.

Before, I start with what this surgery is going to be about let me explain the first surgery.

Baby Grape’s First Surgery

February 3rd, 2020 at 10:41 a.m.


The surgery was our last resort in resort to avoid doing the second surgery.

Melody has a little hole in her heart. When the babies are inside the womb the hole is open, and once they are born it closes.

Premature babies however, are different. Since they are born early they did not get to develop completely, and get the final nutrients that they needed.

I will first show you what Melody’s heart is like.

Where it says “Patent (open) ductus arteriosus.” and how it is connected to the “Pulmonary Artery”

It should not be like that, but because it is open Melody’s right lung is doing all the work for both lungs.

Melody has Chronic Lung Disease. She is very fragile, and requires a lot of oxygen. She has been intubated since January 1st, 2020.


What was the plan?

The doctors who who explained the surgery to me, and Alfredo already by just looking at her

knew that it would be complicated. Here’s why



The catheter goes into the groin, and all the way up into the heart.

Complications:

Melody is too tiny.




The PDA was too big for Melody.


They tried different sizes, but still could not get the right size.





She went into surgery at 12 p.m. By 2:40ish they had her out.

They told me since they were not able to close the hole they placed a triple lumen catheter

Good: Melody did so well that she did not need a blood transfusion. She came back into her room with a smile on her face.


This allowed them to draw blood, and give her medications without having to poke her needles and IVs!


Bad: Melody would not stop bleeding!!!!


At first, they were like giving it 15 minutes, but then an hour passed.

I was like “Hello!! She’s covered in blood! Like a lot!" Her whole bed was drenched in blood.

They gave her a blood transfusion.

Her doctor said they could try open heart surgery, but as I stated before, Melody’s lungs are in a chronic condition.

She has a history of having brain bleeds, and an open heart surgery will not guarantee that her lungs will be stable. Plus with open heart surgery they have to put them on by pass, and Melody gets stress easily.

What is the next step?

“Hi, we are baby Grape’s parents!

We are FINALLY GRADUATING from the NICU!!

We are so excited for our next adventure to the PICU!"

On February 11th, 2020 (Tomorrow for me)

will be our second surgery with two procedures!!

That’s right she will be getting two procedures!

(Do not get me wrong I am completely terrified, and nervous!)


Melody will be getting extubated.

She will no longer have the breathing tube in her mouth. She will be getting a Tracheotomy , and a Gastrostomy.



This is our next journey, this is one step closer to having Melody home.

We ask that you pray for us, and give us strength. Alfredo, and I are so thankful to have our loved ones with us. Even if they are not here physically.


I found out we would possibly be needing a Trach, and G-tube a few weeks ago. It broke my heart.

Her doctor told me the before our first care conference she said

“I don’t want to drop the bomb on you tomorrow, but I am going to bring this up.”


This was on January 7th. I was scared!! I did not want Melody to go through this.

We are now on February 10th, and we have given her time. We have given each other time. We are ready for what’s to come.


I have heard so many negative things coming from family members, but I want this blog post to be positive.

I believe that God sends us his angels in disguise, and he knows that they will be well taken care of.

Just like how they say that God won't give you something you can not handle.

God gives you his best angels, because he chose this for us. Only he knows our true strengths.

God has made me believe in miracles, and angles. Whatever heaven feels like or is made up of, it is inside of Melody.

There is not one person that has not been drawn in by Melody. There are so many people have told me “I had a dream about Melody” “I can’t stop thinking about Melody” “I can just feel her '' That is God's work no doubt!

"No matter what the day brings and no matter how hard life hits you, if you can breathe, smile, and keep moving on! once you have life, know that God is alive! .”


I Love you guys!

Do all things with love, and kindness.

We thank you for your prayers, and I will update you guys tomorrow!

PICU HERE WE COME!

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page